Skip to main content

Featured Poet

Featured Illinois Poet

Although this website's objective is simply to promote the art of poetry, its special focus is the rich bounty of work created by our state's poets past and present. Through features on the work of Illinois poets, the site will highlight the poetic legacy of Illinois and showcase the bevy of fine poets currently writing within the state.

Biographical Note

Michael Van Walleghen


See Michael Van Walleghen in the Illinois Poet's Forum.



Michael Van Walleghen is the author of six books of poetry, the most recent of which is In the Black Window: Poems New and Selected (2004). He has a Borestone Poetry Award and a Pushcart prize. His second book, More Trouble with the Obvious (1981), was the Lamont Poetry Selection of the Academy of American Poets. He has been the recipient of two National Endowment of the Arts fellowships and several grants from the Illinois Arts Council. He is recently retired from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign



  • The Wichita Poems (1975)
  • More Trouble with the Obvious (1981), winner of the 1980 Lamont Poetry Prize of the Academy of American Poets
  • Blue Tango (1989)
  • Tall Birds Stalking (1994)
  • The Last Neanderthal (1999)

Michael Van Walleghen's Poems

HTML Pages

Audio Files